runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler – Training Week 1

on February 4, 2013

Well hello there!  I haven’t posted my workouts yet, as they’ve been a few days on, a few days off, which isn’t terribly interesting to read.  But now, I have a written down plan (which you know I like) so hopefully I’ll stick to it!

As I mentioned, I’m training both for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler on April 7, and with the New Triathlete Program through DC Tri Club, goal race of June 2.  I’m trying to combine the two programs.

The DC Tri Club program is, well, not gonna fly.  It includes about 2 hours of exercise for the whole week, 4 days worth.  That’s just not going to cut it for me to actually get ready for a running race, or to survive a triathlon.  So Instead, I’ve turned to Conor, a Tri vet to help me formulate my plan.  It’s still in the works, and I’ll post it when I finish, but as of this week, here’s what we got.

Monday:  Off (I ran Saturday and swam Sunday)

Tuesday:  Run – Build pace for 5 miles

I did the Back on Pointe daily workout, which included jumping jacks, squats, tricep dips, crunches, lunges and leg lifts, plus some wall push ups.  I love using these work outs as short warm ups to get all the muscles in the body moving and ready to go.  This is integral before 6am 😉

Then I just settled in for a long-ish run, with the goal of 4, maybe 5.   I gradually increased the speed by mile, going 6.0 for the first, 6.1 second, 6.2 third, and 6.3 for fourth plus a half mile (I forgot to switch), with the last half mile being at 6.4mph.

I had to take a bathroom break about 2.5 miles in, but felt mostly pretty good.  The 5th mile was tough though, my legs felt super heavy.  Overall not a bad workout.

Wednesday:  Run: 3×1 mile with strength intervals in between

Started with Back on Pointe again: jumping jacks, tricep dips, crunches and obliques.  I omitted some of the ab work, mainly because I felt fat (had approximately 6 pounds of pretzels yesterday, straight up wheat all in my belly!) so I wasn’t feeling focusing on that area!  But, I incorporated the warm up with my own strength intervals:

  • 10 frog jumps
  • 10 squats
  • 10 fast squats (not locking knees in between for continuous muscle tension)
  • 16 jumping lunges
  • Alternate between: 15 leg lifts and 15 side leg lifts OR 20 calf raises in 3 positions (forward, toes in, toes out)

I did this interval before I started, and between each mile.  I used the stupid incline treadmill (you know one of those old ones that pretend to be flat and are really about 1.5%) so I have to admit the miles were pretty tough.

Disclaimer:  I use another treadmill, different brand, in my building and do not delude myself to think it’s inclined so I swear I’m not biased here!

Thursday: Spin class

Whoa crazy Hill Workout!!!  She was like and increase resistance. Increase.  Now sit.  But don’t let resistance off. FASTER! Ahh?!  Great workout though.  She super kicked my butt.  Literally.

The workout consisted of mostly climbs, getting out of the saddle, then maintaining resistance and sitting back down.  She also did a couple songs worth of sprint intervals.  By the end I was dying, but well worth it!

Friday: Run – Yasso 800’s – 5 miles

Return of the Yasso!  Check out my explanation about them here.  Essentially though, They’re just a series of 800 meter sets, as fast as you can go for that distance, followed by a brief walk to recoup.  So that breaks down to .50mi run, .15-.20 walk (depending on how long the treadmill takes to change speed), 10 times.  Buuut, I don’t usually have time for 10 so I usually do 8.

Since I haven’t done them in a while, I tried to ease myself in to find the right speed.

I started the first at 6.7, too slow for a speed workout but I didn’t want to go out to hard and not finish.  2nd set was 7.0, third 7.3, fourth and fifth 7.5.  Feeling confident, I did the sixth and seventh at 7.7, and last and final at 8.0.   Man was that killer!  The 7.5/7.7 range should be about where I’m doing these, or 8/7:50 minutes per mile.

But, I think it was a good way to ease in and see where I should be.  The great thing is you rack up mileage in short spurts, and by the end you have over 5 miles!  Technically I got to 5.3, but because of the walking and the treadmill lag, we’re gonna round down to 5 miles 🙂

Saturday:  Let myself sleep in – Rest day!  Except that I was at work all day…

Sunday: LSD run –  6 miles

I kept the pace near 10min/mile, though I sped it up a smidge at the end.  I had to step off a couple times, and my legs and lungs were not happy by the end.  Happy to start getting respectable distances in though!

Update to Come:

I finally buckled down and got biking gear.  My tush area really just wasn’t pleased with me.  I got biking shorts, shoes, cleats and pedals, I’ll post more specifics soon…ish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

