runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Moroccan Butternut Squash Tagine

on November 28, 2012

Well Hello There! I’ve missed you all!  I’m so sorry I’ve been terribly derelict in my blogging duties.  With work and the holidays, I just haven’t found the time.  But, I’ve still been cooking!  I’ll be sharing my most recent recipes with you all in the next few days 🙂

First up:  Moroccan Tagine. 

What on earth is that you may ask?  While I feel cool saying it, truth is I didn’t actually know what it was until I first found one of these recipes a few years ago.  And it was DELICIOUS.  The general definition is a North African stew consisting of spices and veggies.  The name comes from what it is supposed to be cooked in (a tagine) buuuut, a deep soup pot worked just fine.

But, problem is, I lost that recipe in one of my million moves.  #fail.  Anyhoo, I scoured the internet in search of recipes, and thought this one would be a good jump start.  Here are the ingredients recommended and what I used, and I left off what I didn’t want to add.

Stars of the show:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 small onions, roughly chopped
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper my new smoked paprika!
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste pumpkin puree
  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 sweet potato, cut into chunks Didn’t have any, so I just used extra squash
  • 2 carrots, cut into chunks
  • Added: 3-4 cups chopped kale
  • 2.5 cups vegetable stock or broth, divided
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 20-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Instructions:  Really easy.

  1. Heat the oil and cook onions until soft
  2. Add spices and pumpkin puree, cook until fragrant
  3. Add veggies and toss to coat, then add in the broth and lemon juice.  Bring to simmer.
  4. Cook partially covered over low heat for 25 minutes until everything is tender, then add chickpeas and simmer another 5-10 min.  Add Kale in just a few minutes before finished.  Don’t overcook your veggies (like I did) – remember you’ll be reheating this so cook them until just barely tender.

Yum!  Such a warm, fall stew that makes your belly feel full and happy 🙂

Notes:  Why pumpkin puree?  Because I didn’t have tomato paste and I figured they have similar consistencies, plus, why buy a thing of tomato paste for 1 tbs, knowing you won’t use the rest!  I had pumpkin puree leftover so I just popped that in.

Also, *someone* (me, cough cough) forgot to get chickpeas and carrots…so I cooked them separately and added them in.  I definitely think the recipe needs them to add more flavors and textures.  Adding them later worked just fine, I boiled each separately and spiced with a similar blend as the tagine, and plopped them in.  They soaked in and melded quite well.

Smoked Paprika?  Usually $6-10.  Trader Joes? $1.50.  Boom.  Bought it without thinking twice!  So excited.  it’s smoky and warm but still has good spice.

It was good…but not quite as good as last time.  I’ll keep working on it because it’s such a great fall/winter lunch.

Leave a Reply

