runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Pumpkin Pie Pop Tarts!

on October 31, 2012

I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a long time, but never have time to sit down and make a legit pastry!  Well, thank you Hurricane…before the power threatens to go out, I decided to get down to business.

Note:  I intended to do actual business…even going into work to get stuff to do on my couch.  Guesses on how that turned out?

You can find the recipe here.  It’s on a blog called “Healthy, Happy Life,” on the kblog.lunchboxbunch.com.  Truth be told, it seems like every time I click on a vegan delight on pinterest.com, it’s a link to this blog!  Seriously, go check it out, everything looks so yummy 🙂

Ingredients:

For starters, just combine the dry ingredients for the dough with the butters.

Then, slowly add cold water.  I added about 3 tbs.gently mix together until it forms a ball, and cool in freezer.  I also added about 1/8 cup sugar to the pastry dough, and in retrospect wish I would have added a little vanilla to sweeten it up, maybe 1/2 ts.

While the dough was chilling, I made the pumpkin butter…which was yummy.  I added 1/8 cup sugar, 3/4 ts of vanilla and 1/4ts of almond to the pumpkin butter.  What can I say, I like me some sweetness!

Pre melting:

Post melting:

Mmmm.  Only problem:  Recipe called for pumpkin pie spice.  I’ve never bought or had a premade pumpkin pie spice, maybe because I always had my mom who adds her very own, very delicious, spices to pumpkin pie. Betty Crocker to the rescue again!  She has an emergency substitution section, and pumpkin pie spice is one of them.

Blog, once again, won’t let me turn the picture!

Roll out dough.  Don’t overmix…I’m telling this to myself mostly, because I did :/  I decided, after cutting out the pastries, that it was too thick.  I then balled the dough up again, and rolled it out.  At this point, the dough got pretty rubbery…and not “light” like it’s supposed to be.  Silly Ashley.  Ugh.  Anyway, I always LOVE using my rolling pin.  Something about it just makes me feel happy 🙂

What’s that I used for my pastry cutter?  The top to Hershey’s cocoa powder!  I don’t have a broad array of cutters…or really any for that matter…and looking around the kitchen for something to cut with, it seemed like the perfect size 🙂

I decided to make mini-pastries, mainly so there would be more of them to take to work 😉

I added a healthy tablespoon of pumpkin butter on each piece, and closed them up.  Next up, crimping the sides and pressing together with a fork.  This makes them look all cute and professional.  Oh, and keeps the gooey stuff inside!

Pre bake:

Finished Product:

Inside look…ooh yummy pumpkin butter and glaze!

I was right about the dough, it wasn’t as light and flaky as I imagine it was meant to be…totally my fault for over mixing/rolling.  Otherwise, I would like to figure out how to put more pumpkin butter in (which was delightful) without the whole thing busting.

All in all, fabulous way to spend a rainy day and unexpected day off work 🙂

One response to “Pumpkin Pie Pop Tarts!

  1. Yosef says:

    creative idea. looks excellent!!! I think we need to get you some new plates tho!

Leave a Reply

