runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Fall treat: Pumpkin Carving!!

on October 27, 2012

The leaves are changing and the air is crisp!  Everywhere you look there are shades of red, orange and yellow.  This time of year is absolutely beautiful in the DC area 🙂 Although I get sad that the weather is getting colder (ie I will spend the next 6 months varying between uncomfortably cold and freezing), I have to admit there’s something quite special about this season. 

The real kick off to the holiday season is probably Halloween, though these days they seem to start selling Christmas stuff about 5 minutes after the 4th of July!  I really like decorating my house this time of year, with pumpkins and fall colors.  Fun fall activity: carving a pumpkin! It was the first time in years I’d actually gone through the whole endeavor, and it was really fun.   After googling some inspiration for a design (I am completely not creative with such matters!), we were off to scoop and carve.

Blank Canvas!

Getting all the goo out.  I wanted to be super cool and roast the pumpkin seeds but um.  That looked like alot of work…another time perhaps!

All hollowed out

Drawing on the design

Grrrr. Scary!

Halfway there…gotta be careful, almost lost a tooth for this guy!

Action shot:

All carved!

Woooo, scary! Looks pretty darn good if I do say so myself!

Picture of my deck from outside, unfortunately, my camera isn’t so great at zooming up that many floors!

Happy <Early> Halloween!  Anyone else getting ready for the holidays?

Leave a Reply

