runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Quick Lunch Recipe: Tofu, Kale and Avocado wrap

on October 13, 2012

Hey there!  And we’re back with another lunch recipe 🙂  I try every week to set up my lunches for the week so that they’re quickly grabable and easily accessible, thus *theoretically* setting me up for a healthy and inexpensive week.

I’ve had some Trader Joe’s baked Tofu in the freezer for a while (see brand below), as well as some leftover kale, so I decided to use those as a base.  Instead of mayonnaise for moisture, I mashed up some avocado.  Then I added some lettuce and tomato for crunch and flavor, and that’s it!

I started by steaming the kale.  I pretty much can’t eat completely raw kale…it’s just too tough and hard to chew, plus not the awesomest flavor.  So I usually just steam it up pretty quickly, just enough to soften it up and brighten the color.

Directions:

  1. Trim Kale of stems and cut into 1-2 inch chunks
  2. Put about 1tbs water in a large saute pan
  3. Toss Kale in water, and steam for about 5-10 minutes, until all the leaves turn bright green – see how bright below!
  4. Remove from heat and season (I used garlic salt and seasoned salt)

While that’s cooking, I sliced to tofu in thin strips, and cooked them in another frying pan coated with cooking spray until lightly golden on each side.

While both of those were cooling, I sliced up half an avocado, placed the chunks in a bowl, and mashed.  I then added a healthy skirt of lime juice and a sprinkle of garlic.

Sorry the pic is sideways, currently fighting with wordpress….

To assemble:

Spread 1 tbs of avocado on bottom, add a layer of kale, then tomato, then kale again (which prevents the tomato from making the wrap all soggy!), then tofu.  Wala!

I used Trader Joe’s Low Carb Wheat Tortillas.  Their nutrition facts are pretty awesome: 45 calories, 2g fat, 7g fiber and 4 g protein!  Many tortillas I looked at were around twice the calories and fat, without the fiber and protein.  I’m not sure how so much nutrition is packed into these little things, but I’ll take it.  One Tortilla is pretty small, so most people would probably want 2, but they’re so light, you don’t have to feel bad about it!  They taste pretty good, albeit a little chewy, but they totally work for this type of recipe.

My only problem with the baked tofu is that while it’s super easy and already flavored, it can be pretty dry.  In this recipe, the tomato and avocado mask that, but just be warned 🙂

One response to “Quick Lunch Recipe: Tofu, Kale and Avocado wrap

  1. […] kept it pretty simple, and since I had already steamed a bunch of kale last week, I only had to throw the Cauliflower in the oven and saute the chick […]

Leave a Reply

