runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

New Bike and Rejuvenation week!

on September 23, 2012

Hello all!

Since my half marathon, my health mojo has waned.  Work has been pretty crazy, and for many reasons, I haven’t been consistently working out.  Just a couple random runs here and there.  Add to that eating fairly poorly and we have a bad combo.

So, this week, the goal is to set forth on making some changes and getting back on track.

Sunday, I started off with a fresh juice from Robeks, made only of: kale, spinach, celery, cucumber, and a whole apple.  Super yummy, with the apple adding just enough sweetness, plus nutrient packed.

Then, I set off on a bike ride with my new bike!  What bike you may ask? I bought a road bike last weekend!  I’ve been thinking about getting one for a while, and figured the end of biking/triathlon season would find people selling their bikes in favor of upgrading.  I wound up getting a Felt ZW100 from a girl who was selling her 2 year old bike to upgrade.  The reviews were great for this bike, and it’s especially known as a great starter bike.  Perfect!  I’m so burnt out on running, I hope biking will allow me to spice it up a bit and get back to actually enjoying exercise.

Here she is!  So pretty 🙂

The bike ride:  Went about 18+ miles along W&OD trail. Biked from Shirlington up to Gallows road, took a brief snack break and headed back.  It’s a much more fun trail to bike than run, for sure!  The gentle undulation on a bike is entertaining while briefly challenging; running: it’s rather annoying and difficult.  All in all, I’m pretty excited for my new bike, and have high hopes!  Not too bad for first serious ride 😉

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Sunday afternoon I set about making some Pumpkin Chili, borrowed from neverhomemaker.com, a great website for vegan and vegetarian recipes.  With the sudden arrival of fall, a nice warm chili sounded perfect!  Plus, with a big batch, hopefully I can keep it healthy all week.  The chili itself is protein and fiber packed, along with the added benefits of pumpkin, as elaborated here.

Kinda awesome that these random cans can turn into a fabulous chili 🙂

Pretty simple recipe, just onion, garlic, kidney beans, corn, canned tomatoes, pumpkin puree and vegetable broth.  Start by sauteing the onion and garlic, then adding in the veggie broth, tomatoes and pumpkin, followed by the rest of the ingredients, and letting it simmer for 45 minutes.  So excited to try it!  Last time I made chili, it was more of a bean soup.  Great flavor, but lacking the texture of a true chili.  This time, much more hearty.  Thank you pumpkin 🙂

I also whipped up some no-bake granola bars, for breakfast during the week.  I love starting my day with some sort of bar, I’m a sucker for them.  Problem is many of the bars you get in the grocery store have tons of chemicals and preservatives and nasty stuff.  Doesn’t make you feel too great to think about!  As I’ve  previously written about, I love my almond butter bars, but with the chili endeavor, I wanted something simple.

Enter: no-bake peanut butter granola bars.  I’ve been eyeing the recipe for a while, so I figured what better time than now!  Only substitution: agave nectar instead of rice syrup, only because I didn’t have any.  Also, no coconut for me!  I added about 1/8 ts of cinnamon for some warmth, and a touch of ginger to freshen it up.

Close up:  Look at all that yumminess 🙂

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The real goal for this week is going to be to STOP SNACKING AT WORK.  I usually am able to eat a fair bit of healthy foods.  Problem is, I also eat a ton of bad things.  Candy jars at my work are plentiful…as is my intake.  Add on to that my unhealthy addiction to salty crunchy things, and we have a problem.  I can’t seme to stop myself 😦  I get home from work, and am often not hungry but feel like I need some nutrients, something healthy for dinner.  This is no bueno.

SO.  Small steps.  This week, the goal is to allow myself an after lunch treat, but no more.  And in the afternoon when I reaaaaaally want some chips, I bought carrots and hummus instead.  For the in between times: trying to implement the gum trick.  I’ll let you know how it goes, but lately I’ve been feeling so lethargic and unhealthy, I hope I can at least make some improvements  🙂

Anyone else have snacking/willpower issues?  I’d love any tips for avoiding the big pitfalls!

Wish me luck 😉

One response to “New Bike and Rejuvenation week!

  1. […] just go to the info session and see what it’s all about.  After all, I like training and I bought a bike last year sooo, what’s the harm in just […]

Leave a Reply

