runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan-ized Betty Crocker Banana Bread

on September 8, 2012

Well hello there all!  So a week out from my half marathon and finally recovered (for the most part!).  The most lingering issue has been a gnarly blister on my toe which caused me to limp alllll week.  Pretty embarrassing, but I did wind up being able to brag that I did a half marathon when people asked me what happened 😉

Anyhoo, when we got home from the beach, my entire apartment smelled like rather ripe bananas.  Which, as any fan of quick breads knows, means it’s time for banana bread!  Ever since I can remember, my mom and I have been making Banana bread (or zucchini or carrot bread) from Betty Crocker.  There’s something so nostalgic and comforting about the smell of fresh baked banana bread coming out of the oven, it reminds me of home and makes my heart happy.  I haven’t made the recipe in a while and decided it was time to veganize it!

I’ll show you Betty’s version, crossed out with my ingredients.  Not terribly much to change since the main ingredients are bananas, sugar, and flour.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter Earth Balance Buttery Spread (softened)
  • large eggs flax eggs (6 tbs of hot water, 2 tbs of flax, and about 1/2 ts of psyllium husk, stirred and soaked for a few minutes until reaching the texture of scrambled eggs)
  • 1 1/2 cup mashed very ripe bananas (3 medium)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk Light Soy milk
  • 1 ts vanilla (I use about 3/4 ts vanilla and 1/2 ts almond – because that’s what my mommy taught me!)
  • 1 ts baking soda
  • 1 ts salt

Instructions

  • Heat oven to 350*
  • Grease bottoms of two 8×4 inch loaf pans
  • Mash bananas

  • Stir sugar and butter until well mixed, then add in eggs
  • Stir in bananas, milk and vanilla
  • Beat entire mixture until smooth, but don’t over mix
  • Then add dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, and salt) until just moistened

  • Divide batter evenly and bake for about 1 hour

According to Betty, each slice (not sure what that means, but I’m guessing maybe 3/4 inch) has the following nutrition facts:  70 calories, 2g fat, 0g fiber, 1g protein

Notes:

In my humble opinion, my vegan banana bread was every bit as delicious as what I remember from cooking with my mom.  Granted, one loaf wasn’t entirely vegan because I had a request to add milk chocolate chips, and I haven’t found any vegan ones!  Anyone else??  But, I brought the plain one into work, and it seemed fairly well received 🙂

Also, I added the psyllium husk to my flax egg to make it more viscous.  I’ve added it to other things just to add the digestive health element and it always makes things (other than smoothies) gummy…in a not good way.  But, for a flax egg…perfect time to add it!  Worked out rather well.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

