runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Almond Butter Bars!

on August 26, 2012

It’s time to finally share one of my FAVORITE recipes.  I discovered this recipe on fANNEtasticfood.com probably a year and a half ago, and have made them many times.  They’re vegan, high in protein, fiber, and omega 3s, and delicious.  They’re like banana bread…but healthy!  It was also my first forray into the world of vegan baking, and a what a wonderful and easy introduction it proved to be 🙂

Check the recipe here, and I’ll give my own recap with nutrition facts.

It’s a really easy recipe, just combine the wet ingredients with the dry, and bake!

Wet ingredients:  Applesauce, maple syrup, almond butter, and bananas.  These ingredients provide much of the flavor and nutrition.  The applesauce and maple syrup replace butter in a typical quick bread recipe, and provide sweetness.  Almond butter adds protein and Vitamin E, and bananas add potassium and Vitamin C.  I also add a half teaspoon each of almond and vanilla extract, for a little extra sweetness.

Dry Ingredients: spelt flour, rolled oats, flaxseed, cinnamon, baking powder and soda, and salt.  Again, nutrient packed.  I was introduced to spelt flour through this recipe, and actually really liked it.  fANNEtasicfood describes the benefits here, but basically, it’s a whole grain wheat with more protein than regular flour, and more complex flavors.  The oats also add some healthy carbs.  The flaxseed adds omega-3s, which are key for vegetarians and vegans.

So there you have it.  I separated the batter into two containers, one a square pan (not sure what size, sorry!) and one a mini loaf pan to send off as a gift.  I’ve tried baking these in a 9×13, but wouldnt recommend it, not quite enough batter and they came out a bit dry.  This time though, perfect, if I do say so myself!

Nutrition Facts:

Serving size: 1 bar

Yield: 12 bars

Calories

174

 

Fat

5g

7%

    Saturated Fat

0.45g

 

Carbs

30g

9%

    Fiber

3.5g

 

    Sugar

14g

14%

Protein

4.5g

9%

4 responses to “Almond Butter Bars!

  1. Yosef says:

    I can attest. There are AMAZING. Great recipe and pics!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh my, my…
    I cannot wait to try these! They sound so so good…and so healthy,too!!

  3. […] and preservatives and nasty stuff.  Doesn’t make you feel too great to think about!  As I’ve  previously written about, I love my almond butter bars, but with the chili endeavor, I wanted something […]

  4. Anne P says:

    I’m so glad you like the recipe!

Leave a Reply

