runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Birthday Recap!

on July 31, 2012

Friday afternoon, I went to lunch with my fabulous co-workers at a very classy establishment.  Denny’s.  Oh yes.  America’s favorite chain breakfast place, or well at least 2nd favorite?  No?  Maybe?  Hm.  Whatever, we loved it!  It was delicious, and as a treat to the birthday girl, the restaurant gave me my lunch free. Win!

I headed home for a MUCH needed relaxation fest with my family for the weekend.  My home has always been a zen place, a place to go when you need to relax and just recharge.  I left work as early as I could, swung by Wegmans (well, this obviously took longer than expected, but so many fun foods!)  Then: COUCH.  Ahhhhh.

I popped out for a couple hours to hang out with my friends from high school, and celebrate one of them finishing the bar last week.  Poor thing was in a complete post-bar haze, which I can totally relate to!, but he was in good spirits.  It was just super fun to see everyone and hang out.

Next up: birthday celebrating with the family Saturday.  My sister bought me this LOVELY bouquet, that looks like a birthday cake!  So sweet 🙂

I got to spend some quality time with my gorgeous niece, who just recently turned 1, and is the sweetest little thing.  She is just a ball of energy, and attired with some new kicks (some Big-girl shoes -Nike’s), is walking all over the place.  Can’t slow her down!  It’s always so nice to go home!

Plus, birthday present from my parents….”An Evening with Idina Menzel”  Oh. My. God.  SOOOO cool.  See the details here.  I LOVE Idina Menzel.  Most known for the broadway shows Rent and Wicked (nominated for Tony’s for Rent, and won for Wicked!), she is an unbelievably talented vocal powerhouse.  Check out her Bio here and definitely check out her personal page here.  PLUS, she’s on Glee which is totally an awesome show.  Those kids are so talented and she was an amazing addition to the cast.

For my Favorite Idina song, see here.  No Seriously.  Click on it 😉  She’s the Green One.

Let’s not forget my earlier birthday present, Beauty and The Beast, and future birthday present, Cirque de Soleil Totem!  I am one lucky girl!!

Also, my parents graciously took me to the grocery store…on their funding…for an additional present.  I picked up all the boring toiletries and such, but also some FABULOUS things (which also explains why my Wegman’s trip was less than brief!).

Alright, so what have we got:

I filled up my freezer because lately, I just haven’t had time to cook during the week lately.  I’ve been making far too many trips to Whole Foods after work which isn’t good for my waist line, and even worse for my wallet!

  • Got a quality vegan frozen pizza, to go with the vegan pepperoni I already have.  It could be awful, or awesome, we shall see!
  • A couple of Amy’s frozen meals – Bean and Cheese Enchilada and Mattar Paneer – for super lazy nights
  • A treat – vegan Thai Spring Roles – and the nutrition isn’t that bad!

Next up: Main dish proteins (also known as meat substitutes but, I don’t really like calling them that, makes it seem like meat is the norm and tofu and such is just a substitute!)

  • Seitan.  Mmm.
  • Marinated tofu (teriyaki) – this saves alot of time in the preparation
  • Tempeh “fakin’ Bacon” – planing on using this in a BLT wrap for lunches!

I also got some snacks and breakfast bars: Purely Decadent Dairy Free Ice Cream, Raw Revolution and Pure brand bars (trying both for the first time, I’ll let ya know how it goes.  Problem with natural bars – higher in fat from the nuts, but it’s worth it to not have the chemicals and such), plus some Tribal tofu jerky.  It’s a good source of protein, and super yummy, they’re just so hard to find!  These are good for when I’m on the go, don’t have time to eat, and need some nutrients.

2 responses to “Birthday Recap!

  1. […] my birthday trip to Wegmans, I decided to use my Fakin Bacon Tempeh to make a modified BLT […]

  2. […] I mentioned last week, I went to see “An Evening with Idina Menzel,” on August 3 with my best friend, Dani, […]

Leave a Reply

