runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan Chocolate Peanutbutter Cupcakes

on July 19, 2012

Chocolate.  And Peanut butter.  Could there be a better combination?  I know, peanut butter and jelly, but really, chocolate has to win.  Mmmm.

So, when I saw a recipe for vegan. chocolate. peanut butter. cupcakes. on neverhomemaker.com, I HAD to try it.  I follow the blog pretty regularly (Check out their website to the right 🙂 ), and am often enticed by their recipes.  Unfortunately, I let the recipe sit on my desk for over a month, having no reason or time to bake such a lovely thing.  Then, someone needed baked goods for a Potluck!  Bingo.  Someone else buys the ingredients, I get to have fun and bake and decorate and eat…but not be stuck with over 3 dozen cupcakes to eat myself.  Perfect.  Off we go!

Note: neverhomemaker.com vegan-ized the recipe from Smitten Kitchen’s Chocolate peanut butter cake, and they did a fabulous job!  I didn’t really modify the recipe, figured I’d stick to it since it was my first attempt 🙂

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 6 tablespoons applesauce
  • 2-1/4 cups soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1-1/2 cups wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups unbleached cane sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

Frosting:

  • 10 8 ounces Tofutti vegan cream cheese, at room temperature (one container)
  • 4 ounces Earth Balance (or other butter substitute), at room temperature
  • 5 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 2/3 cup smooth peanut butter (I used Skippy Natural)

Instructions: (abbreviated)

  • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. Insert cupcake liners into a medium cupcake pan.
  • Whisk together all wet ingredients and dry ingredients in separate bowls, then combine

  • Bake for approximately 20 minutes
  • Cool and then frost

For the Frosting:

  • Beat the cream cheese and Earth Balance until light and fluffy. Gradually add the confectioners’ sugar — 1 cup at a time, mixing thoroughly after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl often. (Doing it 1 cup at a time is VERY important.)  **I missed this detail, and had to shovel out the extra sugar before mixing…oopsie!
  • Continue to beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes.
  • Add the peanut butter and beat until thoroughly blended.

My super awesome frosting tool, tried out for the first time!  And also kinda looks like a mideaval torture device…

The whole crew.

Close Up:

Comments:

I would only say that I wound up with too much frosting (probably because the original recipe called for a layered cake), and this isn’t exactly a dietetic dessert.  Mainly the caloric culprit is the frosting, which was of course the most delicious part.  But when you have a recipe with cream cheese, butter, and sugar…it’s not gonna be healthy, vegan or no!  Then again, frosting isn’t really that bad of a thing to have left over for other treats…

Also, I didn’t add the topping, I didn’t think they needed it!

Mine Yielded 1 dozen regular cupcakes, 2 dozen mini cupcakes, and about 8 more in a separate, I get to keep these, batch.  So the recipe does yield alot.  I’d guess 28-32 regular sized, so at least 2.5 dozen.  Or about a bazillion mini’s 🙂

Leave a Reply

