runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan Oreo stuffed cookies! And a Chicago pizza tease ;)

on July 5, 2012

Again, sorry for the blog failing….but at least I have a recipe for you this time!  I used my fabulous mid-week day off to clean and bake.  Felt rather lovely I must say.

I’ve heard murmerings in the vegan blog-o-sphere that oreo’s are vegan for a while…I was instantly intrigued.  Then, when I came upon this recipe, I HAD to try.  First question, if oreos are vegan, what’s the cream made out of?  Um, I’d rather not know actually.  I’ll take it as a gift from the Vegan gods and move on!

I basically stuck to the recipe, except I used mini oreos instead, thinking they’d be easier to manage, and slightly less guilt inducing.  Next time, I’d maybe go the complete opposite direction and go for double stuff.  Go Big or Go Home.  I also substituted half the oil for Earth Balance vegan butter.  (I’ve also heard in the land of urban legend that margarine is vegan, and you can just substitute it in any recipe to veganize.  This is false.  I read the ingredients of 4 different margarines, every one had milk and or whey in it.)

Anyhoo, let us begin!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups unbleached flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt Cinnamon, to taste (optional)
  • Handful vegan chocolate or carob chips
  • 1 cup raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil 1/4 cup Earth balance and 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla 1/2 ts vanilla and 1/2 almond – family trade secret 😉
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Oreos (or generic equivalent)

Instructions

  • In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir in the chips. Make a well in the center and set aside.
  • In a medium-size bowl, add the sugar and the oil. Mix well. Add the vanilla and then the water. Mix well
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the well in the dry ingredients. Mix well, but be careful not to overdo it. Add more chips if necessary
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F
  • Form balls with the dough
  • Place one ball on top of an Oreo cookie and another ball on the bottom. Seal the edges together by pressing and cupping in your hands until the Oreo cookie is fully enclosed within the dough
  • Bake the cookies for approximately 15 minutes or until golden brown

 Assembly Line

Voila!

All Together Now

Next time I’d use all vegan butter and no oil, but maybe add in a little applesauce because the cookies were a touch dry.  Also, I gotta find vegan milk chocolate chips.  I really don’t enjoy carob chips, but I can’t find milk chocolate anywhere!  There is also a vast conspiracy against milk chocolate in favor of bitter/semi-sweet in the cookie world in general….but this must stop!  Any suggestions??

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Last tidbit – there won’t be a forthcoming blog on my Chicago trip last weekend (still working on that Philly 2 post for you!) but, I couldn’t possibly do without posting pictures of the most important part of the trip:  Chicago Pizza.  Boom.  Deeeelicious.  Much like Philly Cheesesteaks, there’s a whole lingo associated with how to order these complex masterpieces…and and insane delivery time because cooking them takes legitimately 45 minutes.  Oh well, worth the wait!

Chicago style pizza is not only known for being Deep dish, but for its unique ordering of toppings.  First – a deep, doughy, buttery crust.  Then the cheese.  Then the toppings (crazy, I know).  Then Sauce.  Totally unique and different than traditional pizza.

That’s one tall pizza.

That’s all folks!

Leave a Reply

