runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan Cinnamon Buns!

on June 1, 2012

I’ve been wanting to veganize a cinnamon bun recipe forever, but never have the kind of time necessary for this rather delicate endeavor.  This Memorial Day weekend turned out to be the perfect time-having Monday off is awesome 🙂

Scrounging around the internet I found a great recipe at deli-cute-essen, which seemed fairly simple and didn’t involve messing with yeast.  Thanks for a great recipe! I made a few adjustments to the recipe, but it was a great base recipe I’d like to play around with more.

Ingredients, from deli-cute-essen, with my substitutions:

For the dough:

  • 2 3⁄4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 1⁄4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1⁄2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3⁄4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1⁄4 c. “buttermilk” (Mix 1 Tbsp vinegar (I used lemon juice because I didn’t have vinegar – seemed to work!) with just less than 1 1/4 cup of soy milk. Let sit for 5 minutes)
  • 6 tbsp. melted vegan margarine  – I used Smart Balance (next time I’d probably use half Smart Balance and half applesauce instead, I think it would make the finished product more moist)
  • 2 tbs ground flax
  • 1 1/2 tbs psyllium husk
  • 1/2 ts each of vanilla and almond extract
  • 1/2 ts cinnamon

For the filling:

  • 2 tbsp. melted vegan margarine
  • 2 tbsp. sugar brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon

For the Icing – I used a cream cheese base instead of just a glaze

  • 1/4 cup tofutti – softened for 30 seconds on medium in the microwave
  • 1 tbs vanilla soy milk
  • 1/4 ts vanilla

Instructions (abbreviated)

  • Make the “buttermilk” – after it sits, it gets sour and thicker
  • Mix all the dry ingredients together (flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt, flax, psyllium)
  • Add the melted Smart Balance and buttermilk; knead together until it forms a ball, then move to floured surface
  • Roll out to 1/4 inch thick (and when they say 1/4 in, they mean it!  See my comments below)
  • Mix filling and spread over dough, then roll up and slice into 8-12 pieces and put on greased baking sheet

  • Bake at 475 degrees for 15-17 min (see my comments on this as well)
  • Make the cream cheese frosting: Melt the Tofutti for about 20-30 seconds, then mix in other ingredients

Ooey Gooey Goodness:

BIG Bite!

Comments:

  • The buns came out a bit dry, I think I’d maybe cook them on 400 next time, and add applesauce in lieu of half the Smart Balance
  • I rolled them too thin (I always do this, because I love using the rolling pin and it’s so fun!  My thinking was: thinner dough = more rolling = more filling! What happened: harder to roll, and a lot of filling squeezed out, actually less yummy filling)
  • Make more cream cheese icing.  Like Double maybe.  Can never have too much!

Leave a Reply

