runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Summer Recipes – Vegan Breakfast Burritos and Popsicles!

on May 27, 2012

This week was pretty tough for me at work, and I didn’t have the energy to do my normal tofu prep, but I also didn’t want to eat out.  I had Mori Nu tofu in the fridge, which is pre-pressed silken tofu.  This eliminates the need for the water removal, but since it’s silken, it’s a little more tempramental.

Solution: Breakfast!  Breakfast is an awesome weeknight go-to because it’s usually way less maintenance and it’s just downright comforting.  Breakfast burritos are hearty and flavorful, and I happened to have all the ingredients on hand.  Here we go!

Soy Chorizo and tofu Breakfast Burrito

Ingredients

  • 1 package of tofu
  • 1/3 soy chorizo sausage
  • 1/4 cup of Daiya Cheddar shreds
  • 3 cups of greens (I had Swiss Chard on hand for the farmer’s market)
  • generous sprinkling of tumeric (for color) probably about a ts – or until it’s all yellow!
  • Seasonings to taste: garlic, onion, chili powder
  • 2 ts of psyllium husk
  • 1 1/2 ts ground flax

Instructions

  • Spray pan with non-stick cooking spray
  • Cube up tofu and toss in pan (the cuts don’t really matter, you’re going to scramble it up anyhow!)
  • Add in soy chorizo and seasonings and cook at medium high, scrambling during the process
  • Add in cheese after the tofu and chorizo are mostly cooked
  • Add in greens a few minutes before ready to serve – they wilt quickly!
  • Serve on a whole wheat tortilla.  Feel free to add in more cheese at the end – it adds great flavor that kinda gets lost once its completely melted

Note: Product is more delicious than the picture gives credit 🙂

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Because there’s a heat wave expected, I decided to make my own popsicles!  I scored popsicle molds from Rite Aid for $2 earlier this week, so I had to try them out 🙂

Mango-Strawberry popsicles

Ingredients – makes 4 small popsicles

  • 1/2 pint strawberries
  • 1/2 champagne mango
  • Could add about 1/2 to full tbs of agave nectar if the fruit isn’t sweet enough (I should have!)
  • 1/4 ts vanilla
  • 1/2 cup water

Instructions

  • Cut up fruit into medium size chunks (doesn’t need to be perfect, it’s just going into the blender!)
  • Add all ingredients into blend
  • Then WRRRRRRRRRRR, blend it all together until super smooth, adding water as necessary to smooth out
  • Note: If I had soy milk on hand I would have added this instead of/in addition to water, to get a creamier texture, but as it is, still a delightful summer treat

Random tidbit – I tried out my local farmer’s market for the first time last weekend, and it was awesome!  I picked up lots of great items, including the greens and strawberries listed above.  I also stopped into Whole Foods to get some grains (millet for lunch salad with the zucchini and carrots, oats to have on hand in case I ever have time to make granola, and figs which I cut up to snack on), and various other items.  In case you’re curious, here’s what I bought for the week:

Plus a little dessert treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

