runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Final Countdown!

on April 23, 2012

Well, race day is less than 2 weeks away, it’s time to get serious!  My goal for the next two weeks exercise wise is just to train smart and keep it up.  My bigger goal is to fix my nutrition.  I’ve fallen into a big eating rut, wherein I eat anything and everything I want…and it has to stop.  I just feel gross and I’m not sleeping and I don’t feel healthy.  So, beginning this post on Monday and updating throughout the week, hopefully I’ll have good news by the end!

Monday: 10K time trial – 54:11

So, the time I’m happy with (it’s exactly an 8:45 pace), but it’s misleading as it doesn’t include stops.  The run itself was pretty bad.  My stomach was not in good shape (see nutrition above), the room was really hot, and I SWEAR my garmin was going way slower than I was (this, however, is exceedingly unlikely as the last time I calibrated it, it was dead on).  Not the best of ways to start the week.

Tuesday: Fartlek – 4.5miles

Decided to just wing it this morning!  The workout consisted of 90, 60, and 30 second intervals at 8.0, 8.3, and 8.5 pace (between 7 and 7:30 per mile), up and down the ladder for about 3 and a half miles, with warm up and cool down added in 🙂  Actually a fun way to spice it up and keep myself entertained!

Wednesday: Body Pump Class

Fun class, lots of work with the bar, isolating muscle groups (bicep, tricep, shoulder/back, quad and hamstring, abs)…good cross training day.  Description of the Class: “BodyPump is the original barbell class that strengthens your entire body. This workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls. Great music, awesome instructors and your choice of weight inspire you to get the results you came for – and fast.”

Friday: Pilates and abs

Saturday:  Outside run on a local trail – 6.5miles

Set out on a beautiful morning for my last outdoor run before the race.  Unfortunately, I didn’t prepare that well.  I wore much heavier clothes than the weather demanded, and the high 70s sunny temperature certainly required water that I definitely didn’t bring.  Tough run but I’m super glad I got out there and did it.

Sunday: Laundry malfunction – no workout.  Note to readers:  Even if you think you’re being all on top of stuff by doing laungry on Saturday…make sure you either also put said laundry in the dryer, or leave out what you need for your Sunday morning workout.  Oops.

3 responses to “Final Countdown!

  1. Yosef says:

    It’s rumored you dance to the rain…is this true? Also…Thursday is mysteriously missing…

  2. […] Wednesday: Body Pump Class!  Check out my description here […]

Leave a Reply

