runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Race Recap – Scope it Out 5K

on March 28, 2012

First I’ll reveal that if you go to their website, you won’t find my name :/  This is because I didn’t actually register.  I was on the fence about the race until the night before.  Things were so hectic with the move, and I didn’t work out nearly as much as I should have (meaning only 2 runs prior to the race) and I ate terribly, trying to work my way through the culinary delights of my new home.

Alas, night before, I decided to just do it.  It would be a good speed workout, and I wanted to provide moral support to the Boy.  Of course, the weather report was 51 and raining.  Um. Awesome.  What happened to 76 the other day??

The temperature actually wound up being rather pleasant for running.  I started out strong, but there were a lot of people to weave in and out of. By mile marker 1, I wasn’t dying, but not exactly having a great time.  Mile 2, I stopped to walk and regain my breathing.  Starting back up, I was running sub 8 pace for a couple minutes.  Then, right around 2.5mile mark, I bonked.  Completely hit a wall.  My arms were really sore (very abnormal for me – it shows my form deteriorated and I was pumping too hard), and I was just super tired.

Out of respect to the actual racers, I went off the course at the 3 mile marker so I wouldn’t go through the finish line.  Truth of the matter is, I didn’t know if I could make it at that pace.  It was reaaaaaally tough.

So, here are my times.

3 miles in 25:25.  Using pace calculator, my average pace was 8:28 per mile….which is somehow kind of awesome for me.  My PR in 5K last summer averaged a 8:38 pace.

According to pace calculator, maintaining the same pace I would have finished at 26:19, but since I know I was loosing steam, I feel comfortable saying I would have finished at around 26:30, which is still almost 20 seconds faster than my PR! (26:48) This would have made my average 8:32, which is still 6 seconds per mile faster than last year, which I’m happy about 🙂  I haven’t been training for a 5K, or short distance speed, but focusing on increasing my endurance for my 10K so I’m happy to still be improving on the shorter distance!

Had I run the race as indicated, (see results here) I would have placed 125 out of 1454 women (top 8.5%), 53/461 for my age group (top 12%) – not too shabby!

All in all, I’m happy with my performance 🙂

Change of Topic: First Day of Work Lunch!

I decided to keep it fairly simple, something I could make all week.  I returned back to my Roasted Beet Wraps from a couple weeks ago.  I really do enjoy them.  Plus, I found a new kind of tortilla from Trader Joe’s with way fewer calories and still high nutritional values.  Win!

For breakfast, I had a peanut butter protein bar from Kashi and an apple.  Lunch was supplemented by carrots and hummus, in my cute little tupperware container.  Ready to go!!

Then, Tuesday, I changed it up the wrap.  I finished off the heirloom tomatoes for a caprese style wrap.  Inside the whole wheat wrap, I put some tofutti, sprinkled with garlic salt and cumin, then topped with some mixed greens.  Fabulous 🙂

Hope you’re having a good week!

2 responses to “Race Recap – Scope it Out 5K

  1. Yosef says:

    So let’s see here. No Garmin Stats. No race results. And you want us to believe you PR’d?!?! Conveeeeenient ;).

Leave a Reply

