runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Oh City Life! And Cherry Blossoms :)

on March 25, 2012

So, in the past few days, I’ve been able to randomly see and meet the author of a blog I’ve known of for years, BikeSnobNYC, and meet the founder of the BEST cupcake place in the city, Candace Nelson of Sprinkles Cupcakes.  Throw in the Cherry Blossom Festival for good measure and I am one happy gal!  Then, a Cherry Blossom Happy Hour Cruise with my favorite people in the city 🙂

First, Bike Snob.

He was hilarious.  Witty, intelligent, and creative.  His talk was about commuting in NYC, and his idea of creating a new “religion” to ensure bikers are protected.  Here are the reasons:

So funny.  And it was even more exciting to be able to have access to this, since I live in a real life city now!

Next, Sprinkles!!  You may all know her from her very popular show on the food network, Cupcake Wars.  But, I personally know her as the Cupcake God.  I love Sprinkles.  And, I’m what you may consider a cupcake connoisseur.  I’ve tried most of the places in D.C., which is apparently trying to enter the Cupcakes Olympics for sheer number of cupcakeries per capita.  Sprinkles is by far the best.  Most flavorful, no artificial flavors, decadent but not to rich.  Heaven in a paper liner!

Line waiting outside to get in for free cupcakes to celebrate their year anniversary 🙂

Heavenly sounds <aaaah>

Candace:  So what’s your favorite cupcake?

Me: Oh Candace, that’s like asking me to choose a favorite child!!  I couldn’t possibly.  But if I have to, it would be this Praline one you had last fall, but it was only seasonal.

Candace:  Oh really?  We’re bringing that one back next week!

Me:  Oh. My. God. You are my hero.

Fabulous way to start the afternoon.  I got their Cherry Blossom special cupcake which was of course delightful.  I’m not sure what type of cake it was, but it was light and not too sweet.  The icing was a cherry cream cheese frosting, definitely sweet but a good compliment to the cupcake itself.  Fabulous.  OOOh Sprinkles.

We then walked about a million miles through the fabulous weather down to the Cherry Blossom Festival (sensing a theme?).

Now, time for visual blogging:

Georgetown from the Key Bridge

Some duckies along a walking trail, Lincoln in the background:

Fun with camera colors!

Tidal Basin Shot

Close up of the Blossoms

That’s all for now!  Stay tuned for a race recap from the Scope it Out 5K this morning.  Off to get ready for my first day at the new job 🙂

One response to “Oh City Life! And Cherry Blossoms :)

  1. Yosef says:

    EXcellent shots!!! Really like the size of the photos too!

Leave a Reply

