runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Move Updates!!

on March 23, 2012

Well, in the course of 4 days, I completely packed and moved one apartment, to a new one half the size….and completely unpacked that one.  I’m very crazy, obsessive, anal-retentive, diligent in unpacking when I move.  I just want it to feel like home.  Thankfully, I don’t start my new job until next Monday so I have the time to get used to my new place, and get to know the area.  I’m so excited!  I really love the location, and my new place is quite cozy if I do say so myself.

Here’s how it started:

And about 12 ridiculous hours, one cable guy, one handy man, and a walk through with a property manager later:

And Reward for the busy worker, with a lovely view:

For my first meal, I made myself a quick lunch.  I purchased some lovely heirloom cherry tomatoes from my neighborhood Whole Foods (SO excited I can say that!), and some vegan cream cheese.  Seemed like a nice Caprese-esque sandwich base to me!

I put them together on a lightly toasted, whole wheat bun.  I cut them in half for a cute presentation, and sprinkled with salt:

And who doesn’t need dessert with lunch?

I picked up some vegan ice cream from Whole Foods as well.  I’ve been working my way through the dairy free options, you’d be surprised how many there are!  I started with coconut milk based, which was alright, but, well, too coconut-y.  I’ve found a few kinds of soy based that I actually enjoy.  This was the first time for rice based, and I’ll give it a thumbs up.  It has a creamy texture, isn’t too terrible for you, and I can pronounce most of the ingredients on the list which is important.  I just don’t feel great about replacing dairy for health reasons, only to replace it with all kinds of crazy chemicals and processes.  All in all, two thumbs up.  (I only don’t give it a higher rating because I’m still getting used to carob chips, which are often used as a chocolate substitute .  They are made of carob powder instead of cocao, and resemble chocolate, but without adding milk and butterfat.  But, they’re not chocolate lol Takes some getting used to!)

Leave a Reply

