runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Pantry/Fridge Clean out recipes

on March 21, 2012

So, as you all may know, I moved last week.  In an effort to not be wasteful and not have to move as much junk, I limited the grocery shopping to just fresh fruits, in the hopes of working my way through my pantry and freezer.

I typically eat and buy a lot of fresh foods, so my dry goods tend to get ignored.  Same with the frozen stuff.  Veggie burgers, frozen meals, these things seem like a good idea at the time, but take me forever to get through. (Noted exception-frozen veggies, I eat a ton of these!).

Freezer clean out #1: Power Smoothie

For breakfast after my LSD last week, I whipped up a Green smoothie with the frozen fruit that needed to not be moved with me.

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 cup mixed frozen fruit
  2. 1/2 cup mixed frozen berries
  3. 1/2 cup light soy milk
  4. 1/4 cup water (for consistency)
  5. 1 cup fresh kale (bought last week to try and limit my processed carbs by making kale chips)
  6. 1/2 banana
  7. 1 tbs flaxmeal
  8. 1 ts psyllium husk
  9. 1/2 ts vanilla

Great post-workout breakfast. The berries and fruit provide tons of varied vitamins; the banana provides potassium which is a great post-work out electrolyte, plus its a high-carb, low fiber fruit; soy milk for protein and calcium; flax for omega-3s; psyllium husk for digestive health; and kale of course is a power food!

Pantry and Freezer clean out recipe #2: Whole Wheat Pasta with Veggies

Among things that inevitably end up in my pantry: Dry goods and carbs.  Rice, Pasta, etc.  I know in the store that these can be healthy side dishes.  But at home, I tend to get the protein and veggie portion of dinner….and get my carbs from some highly processed form, such as Goldfish or Wheat thins.  This is not healthy, I know.

So last week, I changed it up!  Kale chips instead of the crunchy stuff, leaving room for more natural and healthy carbs.

Ingredients

  1. 1 dry cup of Whole Wheat Rotini (corkscrews, I think they’re cute)
  2. Remainder of Classico Fire Roasted Tomato and Garlic pasta sauce, left over from the Vegan Lasagna
  3. 1 1/2 cup frozen italian vegetables (zucchini, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, snow peas)

Instructions – pretty self explanatory!

Move update to follow!  Here’s a couple of teaser shots from the old place 🙂

Fare the well old home…

Leave a Reply

