runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Workouts 2/27 – 3/4

on March 4, 2012

Monday: LSD

Actually Slow this week.  Props to me 🙂  It took just over 68 minutes (average of 9:43 pace).  That is a very long time!  But, in order to “absorb the gains” and all that, I kept it slow.  My heart rate was under 160 until about the 4th mile, and under 170 until the 6th.  I call that a win!

Tuesday:  Tempo

5 min @ 6.0 warm up and cool down

2 miles at 5K race pace (6.8 on the treadmill, watch showing anywhere between 8:30 and 8:45 pace, probably an average of 8:40).

It was pretty tough…felt really heavy.  But, happy I did a legit tempo.  Aaaaand it shows me just how much work I have to do before race season.

Wednesday:  20 min spin warm up, then Crossfit

After much peer pressure from fellow gym goers in the Crossfit group, I attended another session this morning.  It was a fun workout, good alternative to running, plus decent arm workout which I neglect.

It was basically a game with a deck of cards.  Each suit was an exercise, and whatever number was on the card was how many reps (2-15 for Aces).  The exercises were: Kettle Bell Swings, Pushups, Dumbbell press, Kettle bell figure 8s, and the 2 jokers were .25mi sprints.  Fun to change it up 🙂

Thursday: Hills

Sad to report this week’s hill workout was not nearly as successful as last weeks.  On tap, based on my race planner, was “4-5 hills at race pace – 4 miles.”  Hmm…I settled on keeping my 10K race pace alternating half mile flat, half mile with 3% incline.  I set the treadmill at 6.6 (treadmill said this was a 9:05 pace, but my watch had me going about 9:17 for the flats and about 9:00 for the hills, keeping it the same speed), and went off.

I’m not gonna lie, this was not fun.  I maybe had to step off after each interval to catch my breath.  Maybe.  Good race training though I think and good to change up the hill work outs.

Friday:  Much deserved day off!

Saturday: Speed workout

.75 mile intervals at 7:47 pace.  Whoa…way harder than expected.  I’ve been doing Yasso’s for a while (.5mi intervals), and the extra quarter mile really made a big difference.  I pushed through though, because I had a huge reward coming to me:  THE CHOCOLATE LOVERS annual festival.  This deserves a separate post 😉

After the chocolate festival, spent about 5 hours apartment hunting and traipsing around my new area!  This left me exhausted though…the good news is out of such exhaustion, me and The boy stopped at a random hole in the wall Italian place because we couldn’t bear anymore driving.  Turned out to be absolutely delicious!  Fabulous day for gastronomy.

Sunday:  Day off, too exhausted to function 🙂

One response to “Workouts 2/27 – 3/4

  1. Yosef says:

    Your boy sounds handsome…is he? Props on the .75 mile repeats. That’s a REALLY hard workout and smart way to train.

Leave a Reply

