runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Best news ever! And some good eats to celebrate :)

on February 28, 2012

As I alluded to Sunday, I got a new job!!  Still doing what I love, but in a waaaaaay better location.  Instead of being stuck down with the wild turkeys and Amish people in the middle of nowhere Maryland, I’ll be heading back to the DC metropolitan area!  Waaay closer to my family, friends, The Boy of course, and basically my life.  No more commuting there every weekend!  Plus, professionally, this is a huge opportunity.  Much more training and room for development.  All in all, absolutely fabulous 🙂

With the good news in mind, I went home to see my parents, sister and my most-adorable-baby-ever-niece.

Sunday, following typical tradition for me and Pops, I made him breakfast.  Since he’s on a diet, I wanted to keep it light.  Perfect opportunity to sneak some vegan in there!

I made a breakfast burrito.  Pops loooooves some salsa, so I figured this was a good selling point.

  • I just cubed up some tofu (the container said silken, which I prefer for egg substitutions…but it was for sure still pretty firm.  Still worked though!), and drained it overnight.
  • In the morning, I sauteed up some soy chorizo (made of textured vegetable protein and spiced up like traditional chorizo, a Spanish sausage)
  • I added in the tofu, sprinkled on a healthy helping of Tumeric, then tossed in some spinach
  • When I was almost done, I added in some baby spinach and topped with Daiya dairy free cheese

Cook and assemble!

 

Just as easy as that!

Verdict:  Pops totally loved it.  Even after I told him it was vegan, he went back for seconds!  WIN 🙂

Served with a berry salad – tossed with 1.5 ts of lemon juice and 1/2 ts of sugar.  Yay for natural light in photos!

When I came home, I decided to make some Chili for the week.  One because it was National Chili Day, and Two because I need to start emptying out my pantry for the move!  Even saying that makes me happy 🙂

Ingredients

  1. 1 can of black beans (though I wish I’d had two)
  2. 1 small can of sweet corn
  3. 1 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes (Mine had basil and garlic added)
  4. 1 can vegetarian vegetable broth
  5. 1/4 onion, diced
  6. 1 ts garlic
  7. shy of 1 tbs chili powder, 1/2 tbs red pepper flakes, 1tbs cumin, 1/2 tbs of oregano

Instructions

  1. Heat canola in dutch oven
  2. slowly cook onion and garlic until softened
  3. Add in all the canned goods and spices
  4. Bring to a simmer
  5. Cover and cook for 45 min…so easy!

 

Served with some lentil chips and we’re good to go.  Yay for work week lunch!

It was, um, a *touch* spicy.  Meaning, hold on to your tissues kids, nose running with this one!  It’s okay though, speeds up your metabolism 😉  Regardless, was super delicious if I do say so myself!

One response to “Best news ever! And some good eats to celebrate :)

  1. […] by the rest of the ingredients, and letting it simmer for 45 minutes.  So excited to try it!  Last time I made chili, it was more of a bean soup.  Great flavor, but lacking the texture of a true chili.  This time, […]

Leave a Reply

