runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Yoooooou guessed it- Weekly Workout Wrap up!

on February 26, 2012

Not the most awesome of workout weeks.  No excuses, I wasn’t that stressed, wasn’t really sleeping well.  But, I just didn’t really wanna.  Bad I know, but sometimes, you just gotta listen to your body.  So Weds and Thursday, I gave myself a break 🙂

Plus, I was anxiously hoping for good news….which I got!  I’ll post separately about it, but teaser – I got a new job back near DC doing exactly what I want to do!!  I could not possibly be more excited 🙂

Monday:  Cardio Dance Class!

After a hard effort LSD on Sunday, I decided to reward myself on President’s day with a fun class.  I love gym classes but I usually don’t have time to do them and am always hesitant to skip a running workout to do one even if I have time.  But it was a holiday and I usually take off Mondays so I went for it.

The class was a ton of fun.  Started off with Zumba type moves – all kinds of core tightening Latin moves!  Salsa, Merengue, Cha Cha, Cumbia, and a touch of the Samba.  Now, I don’t really know what the differences are, I just shake my hips and pretend 🙂  Then we moved on to some hip hop and pop moves…Moves like Jagger anyone?  My favorite mini routine was to LMFAO-the wiggle song. LOVE it.  Then there was just some varied aerobic dance.  Totally entertaining way to exercise!

Only down fall, was enduring the sales pitch at the end to join the gym (I was in D.C. and used a 7 day guest pass at a local gym).  I knew it was coming, but it definitely felt like the conspicuous Billy Madison “No I will not make out with you” moment.

Tuesday:  Fartlek – same as last week.

After two attempts, I’m not really sure how much Fartlek training will improve my speed for the longer races.  I either need to do longer sprints, or stick to tempo and other speed workouts.  We’ll see though, they’re fun to do at least!

Wednesday and Thursday:  Boycott!  Just went in to work super early to get some quiet time in 🙂

Friday: Hills.  Felt surprisingly good!  I did my normal 2 min interval ladder.  But, I felt good enough to do the flats at 6.7. (Up from 6.5).  I did an extra .7 miles after the hills were done, bringing the total to 4.5 miles.

Saturday: Yasso 800s.  Not too bad.  5.5 miles

Sunday:  Um.  Does cooking and driving count?  Told you it was a bad week!

That’s it for now, stay tuned for more about the good news!

2 responses to “Yoooooou guessed it- Weekly Workout Wrap up!

  1. Yosef says:

    How fast were el Yasso’s this week? What are your splits?

    • I’m not sure how long each is, I don’t pay close attention. The Yasso’s were 1@7.3, 2@7.5, 3@7.7, and 2@8.0.
      I think the average is about a 7:30 pace (maybe a little slower), so the 800 should be just under 4 minutes 🙂 Thanks for the interest!

Leave a Reply

