runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Workouts 2/13-2/19

on February 19, 2012

Monday: off

Tuesday: Fartlek (speed play) – this is a new one for me.  It’s meant to train your body to move faster, but only over short distances, and keep the variance up so you don’t get used to it!

Start with 5 minutes of easy running at 6.1:

One pickups of:

  • 90 seconds hard followed by 90 seconds of easy recovery running
  • Hard at 7.3, recovery at 6.3

Four pickups of:

  • 60 seconds hard followed by 60 seconds of easy recovery running

First 2 sets hard at 7.5, 3rd at 7.7, fourth at 8.0, recover 6.5

  • 30 seconds hard followed by 30 seconds of easy recovery running

First 2 sets at 7.7, 3rd at at 8.0, fourth at 8.3

  • 15 seconds hard followed by 15 seconds of easy recovery running

First 2 sets at 8.0, 3rd at at 8.0, fourth at 8.3

One pickups of:

  • 90 seconds hard followed by 90 seconds of easy recovery running
  • Hard at 7.5, recovery at 6.5

5 min cool down at 6.5

Wednesday:  Short Hills

This was on my training schedule and I thought hm.  What defines a short hill and how does one go about doing short hills on a treadmill?  The picture in my head involves grueling lacrosse practices in suffocating heat with the “hill of death” staring at you, waiting for the coach to send you there as punishment, aka what they call “conditioning.”  Shudder.

Anyway, I decided one minute spurts at 7% incline should do the trick, considering it takes a solid 10 seconds just to get to that height.

I started with 1 min walking, then 4 minutes at 6.3.  I was SUPER tired this morning, and didn’t even really want to work out, so I listened to my body and took it a little slow.

Then, I did 5 sets of 1 minute intervals at 7% and 1 minute interval level.  I was totally dying after the fifth, and had to go to the bathroom anyhow, so I took about a 3 minute break.

Then, repeat.  I cooled down a bit at 6.3 level to reach the 3 mile mark.  At some point, I stopped my watch so it hadn’t recorded about a quarter mile.  BLAST!  Oh well, that’s what the treadmill is for.  Then I did a final mile a 6.5, switching between a constant incline of 2% and 1% every quarter mile for 4 miles total.

Side note: Don’t change your routine in the morning!  Last night, while packing my gym bag, I decided to leave my suit coat and shirt hanging, planning on grabbing it in the morning.  This would have been successful, had my closet light not blown out 2 days ago, so I didn’t get dressed in my closet as per usual, and somewhere around the 4th hill, I had an “Oh Crap” moment and realized I didn’t bring any top to change in to!  Luckily, I only live 5 minutes from the gym so I just drove home to get ready instead.  Point being, when you have a specific schedule early in the morning, deviation is not your friend!  Oopsie!

Thursday: Off

Friday: Return of Yasso 🙂  Feels like home! In a sweaty, making funny sounds and running as fast as you can kind of way…

Anyhow, I tried out my new, new shoes.  I returned the other ones, they just weren’t what I was looking for.  I wanted more of a transition shoe into more minimalist running.  The woman at Potomac River Running had me try the Saucony Kinvara 2, and I totally loved them from the first step on the treadmill! I like them way better than the Wave Rider’s, they feel like exactly what I was looking for!  I tried on a few more to be sure, but these were definitely what I wanted.

Added bonus – they look cool.  Win!  Check out a review here, at the Dailymile.com.

Yasso’s went well.  I’ve been having some pain in my knees, but I’d imagine that’s from the old shoes.  Other than that, I pressed my last two Yasso’s up to 8.3, and even hit a 6:45 pace!  Happy Friday 🙂

Saturday:  Long leisurely walk through Georgetown, from the Capital Crescent trail down to C&O canal, then some walking through Georgetown and Rosslyn.  Beautiful weather, and wonderful company (celebrating Part 2 of Valentine’s festivities!)

Also calibrated my garmin to my new “zoom” shoes, as I’ve taken to calling them!  Good news – Garmin is spot on.  Yay!

Sunday: LSD – 10K in 57:03

Though, not so much slow.  Average of 9:11 pace (thought that includes the last .2 sprint, real average was 9:15 pace over 6 miles).  The treadmill was about 25 seconds off pace – meaning it said I was going way slower than I was.  But, stubborn me, I refused to put the thing below 6.0, even though my watch was telling me I wasn’t running near that slow (and, since I just calibrated my watch, I’d imagine it was accurate).  Still, I felt strong.  Had some stomach issues but I’m happy with the outcome!

Weekend Update:

Valentine’s Day celebrations were absolutely perfect.  Friday night included seeing the Vagina Monologues at American University and it was fabulous.  Empowering, sobering, funny, serious, poignant and creative.  Great show!  We then went to Chef Geoff’s, which was DELICIOUS! Good vegetarian options as well.  We started with the Fried Plantain chips with guacamole which was quite good.  Just really fresh and quality ingredients.  Then, I got the roasted beet and pomegranate salad, which was delightful.  For dessert, chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream marinated in pretzels, topped with chocolate covered pretzels and salted caramel.  Um. Wow.  Salt, plus sweet = Ah-Mazing.  So good!  Check out their menu here, really unique and quality dishes 🙂

Saturday was spent taking in the sights and just enjoying the company.  We dined at a wonderful Thai restaurant with great service in Clarendon.  It was just an all around fabulous experience.  Tasty food, good atmosphere and not too crowded.  Topped off with Sprinkles Cupcakes which are my absolute favorite.  Yummy!

3 responses to “Workouts 2/13-2/19

  1. […] a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration! « Workouts 2/13-2/19 Feb […]

  2. […] Random chalk, and proof I’m actually the one taking the pics!  See my Kinvaras? […]

  3. […] be told, I really enjoyed my Kinvara’s.  Remember when I bought them?  Lately though, I have been putting alot of miles on them and I just don’t think […]

Leave a Reply

