runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

10K training plan and workouts :)

on February 12, 2012

As I indicated back in January, I’m gearing up for my first 10K in a couple years.  I’m registered (first step!) for the Pike’s Peak 10K on April 29, 2012. The race schedule has also changed, various things added and subtracted, so once I figure it out more clearly, I’ll post it 🙂

I wanted to train properly for it, so last week I set about making a race plan.  I combined two different programs (seen here and here), along with the advice of The Boy, and came up with the following.

Week

Mon.

Tue.

Wed.

Thu.

Fri.

Sat.

Sun.

Total

LSD

Tempo

Hills

Speed

Cross Train

1

4mi

3mi

5-6 Long Hills

4mi

Intervals 6 x400m

5mi

15-17

2

5mi

Fartlek
3mi

Short Hills

4 mi

Yasso

5 mi

16-18

3

6mi

Fartlek
3mi

Long Hills

4 mi

Yasso

5 mi

17-19

4

7mi

Fartlek

3mi

4-5 hills
5K-10K pace

.75mi intervals

5mi

18-20

5

10K race pace

5 x 440s
5K-10K pace

Short Hills

4 – 5 mi

3×1600 intervals

5mi

19-21

6

8mi

Fartlek

4mi

3-4 Long Hills
5K-10K pace

Yasso

5mi

21-23

7

7mi

Fartlek

4mi

Short Hills

5mi

Intervals 400m

4mi

Off

5K RACE

23

8

Off

Fartlek

4mi

Long Hils
5K-10K pace

Yasso

5mi

13-15

9

8mi

Fartlek

5mi

Long Hills

5mi

Ladder intervals:

1600, 1200, 800, 400 – 5mi

22-24

10

7mi

Fartlek

5mi

Short Hills

Yasso

5mi

22-24

11

6mi

Fartlek

4mi

Long Hills

Ladder intervals

18-22

12

Off

Fartlek
3mi

Short Hills

Yasso

4mi

RACE DAY

12 + race

*Notes – some workouts are still up for debate, and this is subject to change based on how often I travel on weekends.

*I’d prefer to do my LSD on weekends like normal people, but that’s not possible when I’m out of town AND it’s freezing!  So, this is the best I could do given my time constraints.

Any suggestions?  Input would be greatly appreciated, especially with regard to Tempo, which I kinda don’t understand for some strange reason.  Also, I’d love help formulating some interesting speed workouts.  Though I do love my Yasso’s, I gotta change it up sometimes!

Alright, on to the week!

Monday: Light – pilates and abs (went to run at my apartment building and BOTH treadmills were broken, with not enough time to make it to the gym.  Boo)

Tuesday: LSD – 4 miles, 36:08

Pace: 9:24, 9:03, 9:02, 8:36

You’ll notice this is significantly shorter than my LSD last week.  That’s because I’m on my training schedule now, so my goal is to start back up at shorter distances and try to pick up some speed! (Especially since I now have the mental strength to know I can finish a 10K today, even if it’s not the time I want)

Wednesday: Tempo

3 x 1 mile

I think this is tempo…it’s not fartlek because it’s not really changing speeds.  But, it’s not really a typical tempo, because I went faster than both my 5k and 10K race pace.  So, we’ll call it 1 mile tempo 😉

1st mile-8:07; 2nd-7:40; 3rd-7:36

In between each mile and after the last, I rowed for 4 minutes, about a half a mile each time.  This gave my lungs a rest, but kept my heart rate up.  3rd mile – dear god, one of the hardest I’ve done!  It was SO hard…but I felt really great after knowing that I had really pushed myself.

I also tried a new running form, focusing on really pushing off from the ball of my foot and kicking back on each step.  This didn’t last very long, it used way too much energy to keep up!  But, I think outside, rather than on a treadmill, this new technique could help my speed, so I’m going to keep trying little by little 🙂

Thursday: Hills – blech.  4 miles

Let’s be honest.  No one likes hills.  I did the same workout as two weeks ago – ladder of 2 minute intervals: flat at 6.5, incline at 6.0, 3% up to 7 % and back down.  Felt okay, had to hold on a couple of times on the steeper inclines.

Friday: Off

Saturday: Strength Training

Machines: 3 sets of 2×15 reps on each – quad raise, hamstring pull, 2×20 of abductor and adductor, calf raises

Plyometrics and hand weights – 2x 10 frog jumps, 10 slow squats, 10 faster targeted squats, 20 switch lunges

3 x 10 each of shoulder press, bicep curls, tricep extensions

Add in some treadmill silliness, the boy was doing some ridiculous speed and I wanted to see just how fast it was.  Answer? Picture the Road Runner.  It put it up at 9.4, and my legs have never moved so fast!  Absolutely crazy.  It was fun though just to get a feel for a 6:15 mile 😉  I only lasted about 10 seconds though!

Sunday: LSD – 5 miles

Heart rate was pretty high, hit 160 by 4 miles in, and steadily rose into the 180s.  Despite this, I actually felt pretty good.  Average pace of 9:17.  I had to step off twice (once at 3 miles and once at 4 miles), but that’s fairly normal for me.  Not a bad workout….and then yummy Ledo’s pizza for a reward!

3 responses to “10K training plan and workouts :)

  1. Yosef says:

    Looks like you’re poised for a sub 2 hour half marathon. Glad that’s your goal time :).

  2. Haha, for my first half, sub two hours would be a dream…but not likely! I hesitate to make goals so far in advance, but as of right now, my super awesome time would be: 2:05 – which is right about a 9:30 pace. I would honestly be happy even with breaking 2:10, which is under a 10 minute mile, but that may change 🙂
    Breaking the two hour mark would be insane for me, 9:09 pace for 13 miles?? We shall see…

  3. Conor says:

    Pretty much what I read was sub 2hour 1/2 marathon or bust….is that the implication you intend??

Leave a Reply

