runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan Dark Chocolate and Peanut butter brownies!

on February 7, 2012

Another work lunch, another baked good!

**taking pictures of a dark brownie with bad light is not conducive to picture taking, but it was totally yummy I swear!

This time I wanted to make brownies, and felt like adding some peanut butter in for good measure.  This time, I went for vegan!  I’m just not going to tell my coworkers, until they tell me they like them and I’ll rock their world 😉  The decision to go vegan for this one was kind of on accident…I traveled to D.C. this weekend and just really didn’t want to stop at the grocery store on my way home.  Since I don’t keep eggs or butter or milk in my house, this meant I was going vegan.

So, I started with the Betty Crocker basic brownie recipe.  We’ve already talked about my love for Betty, and this was an opportunity to build on a recipe I trust.  I added some things, and adjusted based on how things were looking, but overall, totally happy with the outcome!

Ingredients

  1. 1/3 cup SmartBalance light
  2. 1/3 cup reduced fat peanut butter (I use Skippy, I know I should use natural peanut butter but they don’t make reduced fat-I’m very torn on the issue!)
  3. 5 ounces of unsweetened baking chocolate substitute**
  4. 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk
  5. 1 3/4 cup white sugar
  6. 2 tsp vanilla extract (I added more because I thought the batter needed more sweetness)
  7. 1 tsp almond extract
  8. 3 flax eggs (3 tbs flaxmeal mixed with 9 tbs water)
  9. 1 cup all purpose flour
  10. Extra peanut butter for mixing

**chocolate substitute: The cocoa powder box gives this substitution: 3 tbs of cocoa powder and 1 tbs oil per ounce of chocolate.

I used: 15 tbs of cocoa powder (3 tbs x 5 ounces) which was almost a cup (.93)

Then 3 tbs of oil and 3 tbs apple sauce to lighten it up a bit instead of straight oil

Instructions

  1. Melt the butter and peanut butter together.  The butter melts faster, so once it was liquid I stirred the peanut butter until it was all incorporated
  2. Whisk flax egg
  3. In a medium bowl, beat sugar, extracts, eggs with electric mixer 5 minutes, until it lightens up and gets fluffy
  4. Add half the sugar mixture to the chocolate to loosen it up
  5. Add flour to the chocolate/sugar mixture
  6. Add remaining sugar liquid mixture
  7. Spread into pan, about 1/3 the way up – I used little heart shaped tins, so I placed them on a cookie sheet and made them separately
  8. Spoon in about 1/2 ts of peanut butter <or more> into each tin (or, if using a square pan, spread them out), then swirl with a knife, and just cover with more batter.  Note – I ignored the 1/3 full part, and mine totally overflowed puffed up nicely.  DO as I say not as I do! 😉
  9. Bake 35 minutes at 350

Picture time!

Melted butter, not so melted peanut butter…Then we stir!  And voila:

Add in the cocoa:

Got a little dryer than expected…and man, that is dark chocolate!

Flax egg (check out the action shot of the whisk):

Mix in with sugar, wound up being totally the right consistency:

Final batter – I added the soy milk to make it smoother, and the extra vanilla extract.  Probably couldn’t have hurt to add a little more sugar though 😉

Then pour into cups, add peanut butter, swirl, and just cover.

     

Nutrition Facts:

I calculated the facts through Livestrong.com based on 12 hearts, with the serving size being half of one.

The hearts wound up being alot fluffier and bigger than expected, so I think a real serving would be somewhere between 1/2 and 1 full heart 🙂

Calories 156
Fat 6g 9%
Saturated fat 1g 4%
Carbs 24g 2%
Fiber 2g 6%
Protein 3.5g 6%

Final Product:

Leave a Reply

