runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

More Power Foods continued!

on January 28, 2012

More Power Foods for the Week:

I knew this week was going to be super busy, with events and activities to do almost every night.  So Sunday I wanted to set myself up for healthy options to grab for…knowing at least some of the events involve not so healthy foods to be consumed.

Lunch:

I was craving something that felt hearty and warm, to beat the weather blues! Looking through the pantry, inspiration struck: Curried Barley and Chickpea Salad courtesy of fANNEtasticfood, my favorite food blog!  I have been following this blog for about a year and a half now, and it has really been the jumping off point for my interest in nutrition and food blogging, and is just all around an interesting, entertaining, fun and really well done blog.

Anyway, I mainly followed the recipe, aside from two changes:  One, I halved the barley.  Last time I just felt it was too overwhelming in relation to the chickpeas.  Two, I added a little dash of cumin, about 1/8 ts.

It’s pretty low maintenance to make.  My only problem arose when the instructions in the recipe say: cook barley according to package directions…because I had no package.  I bought the barley bulk from Wholefoods the last time I made this recipe.  Fret not friends!  Betty Crocker to the rescue!

I shall take this moment to add my everlasting love to the classic Betty Crocker cookbook.  Sure there are millions of cook books these days, but I love Betty because I can find all the basics.  Cooking instructions, substitutions, tips and more.  My mom has a Betty, falling apart and stained on the pages of all the best recipes.  A few years ago, when I really began getting involved in cooking, my mom bought me my very own.  I’m working hard on staining my pages, to give Betty the respect she deserves!  Anyhoo, back on topic, she obviously knew how to cook barley 😉

<Heavenly music plays>

So, armed with my kitchen helper, I started the recipe.  You can check out Anne’s blog for instructions, but here are my pics!  I like to pair the warm salad with spinach to lighten it up.


   

  

And to Serve (obviously at work in tupperware!):

Nutrition: 6 servings

244 Calories
4.8g   Fat 7%
19.3g carbs 6%
5.75g fiber 22%
6.83g protein 13%

Dinners:

Just something simple – Peanut and Thai Chili marinated Tempeh with steamed Green Beans

     

I used the same technique as last time I made tempeh, and the steamer thingy made a come back for the green beans 🙂

Note on green beans, I tend to employ the lazy rustic technique and don’t really trim them.  I take off the big blemishes or pointy ends, but for the most part I leave them au natural.

Hope you had a good week!

4 responses to “More Power Foods continued!

  1. Anne P says:

    Thank you so much for the link love and the sweet comments about my blog! They made my night. Glad to hear you are enjoying it and my recipes. 🙂

  2. Yosef says:

    You must be a stick only eating 244 calories a serving!!! I like Anne’s blog too, really well done. The blogging community is pretty cool.

  3. […] I started with the Betty Crocker basic brownie recipe.  We’ve already talked about my love for Betty, and this was an opportunity to build on a recipe I trust.  I added some things, and adjusted […]

  4. […] this means going to Whole Foods, getting a cup of quinoa from the whole foods bins, then asking my Betty Crocker how to cook it.  Answer: bring quinoa and water to a boil, simmer covered for 15 minutes The tiny […]

Leave a Reply

