runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Co-worker farewell :(

on January 25, 2012

This week brings sad news – one of my coworkers is foresaking me for bigger and better things!  Well, foresaking me in favor of a WAY better commute, so I’m begrudgingly happy for him, but that doesn’t mean I can’t complain!

Anyway, to send him on his way with a full stomach, I went in search of a perfect recipe.  I wanted it to be festive and fun, with broad appeal (ie not vegan, not sure my other coworkers would appreciate that for this particular occasion)! I thought cookies, but that was kind of boring.  Then cake…but that can sometimes be difficult to transport and divvy up at work.  Plus, I’m not overly adventurous when it comes to cake, mainly because the Betty Crocker pre-made mixes are pretty much awesome, so why mess with a good thing!

Parousing one of the blogs I check on, I found a recipe that fit just right.  Deep Dish Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie!  The broad appeal and fun of a cookie, but with an added celebration level of special-ness with the deep dish aspect and the sea salt.  Win!

So here we go:

Ingredients

Mix it up!

     

Random Thought: Anyone else find it strange that sugar is always included as a “wet” ingredient?  In most baking recipes, you cream together butter, sugar, and add any other liquids (eggs, milk, etc).  But, last time I checked, sugar is not a liquid.  Is this not misleading?  Certainly is!

In fact, when my mom, sister, and I were baking over the holidays, this topic came up.  My sister, who doesn’t really bake, pointed this out.  This completely logical question was met with confused looks from my mother and I, neither of whom could really explain it (other than to say the sugar kind of melts into the butter, but still, not a liquid).  Oh the joys of baking!

Anyway, I mainly followed this recipe but added a few of my go-to chocolate chip cookie add-ins,which are kind of a family secret.  I’ll give you one – I always split the amount of recommended vanilla extract, halfsies with almond extract.  I also add dashes and pinches of typical baking seasonings that shall not be revealed here.  Hey, a girl’s gotta maintain some mystery! 😉

I also added some butterscotch chips I had on hand, thought they’d compliment the salty aspect.

I used a disposable 1o inch cake tin because I don’t have a cast iron skillet…nor would I want to clean one!  There was enough batter to make 2, and in retrospect I should have taken this into account in the cooking time, as I think I overcooked them just a touch.  I like my cookies really soft in the middle 🙂  Oh well, they still came out really yummy and I’d totally make the recipe again!

Voila!

Not gonna post the nutrition facts here kids…no one wants to know that 😉  Besides, calories don’t count when you bake for someone else, right?

4 responses to “Co-worker farewell :(

  1. Anonymous says:

    I believe I am the alleged departing co-worker. I have to verify that this was amazing. The salt on top added a great kick. Really excellent!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh this sounds so good. I like the idea of halving the vanilla and almond extract. Wow, why did I not think of that? I must try this someday, but first I must lose 5 pounds. geez

  3. Yosef says:

    Damn. Looks bomb. Just remember that when cooking twice as much you just double the heat on the oven…lucky guy he is to have such a doting coworker…

Leave a Reply

