runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Sticky Fingers Takes the Cake…or Cupcake as the case may be!

on January 19, 2012

Sticky Fingers Bakery won “Cupcake Wars: All Stars” on the Food Network this past weekend!

This is fabulous news for a few reasons.

1.  It’s a vegan bakery. Yeah, that’s right.  No eggs, no milk.  Just all natural deliciousness!  GREAT press for the bakery and anyone who doubts how wonderful vegan baking can be.

2.  It’s in DC which is my home away from home (or really, it’s my home I’m just no longer fortunate enough to live in!).  Fabulous press for a city that’s known for it’s variety of food choices, but not always the best tasting ones.

3.  It’s a Food Network Challenge…and since the food network is my favorite channel, I feel particularly moved by this announcement.

I’ve been to Sticky Fingers only once before (Sadly).  I was really impressed.  I got the name sake Sticky Bun, a basic cinnamon bun, which was good but didn’t knock my socks off.  Instead, their cookies, cupcakes, and lunch fare were the winning factors for me.  Baked goods: Delectable, moist, flavorful, and unique combinations.  I had a traditional Chocolate chip cookie that was soft baked on the inside, just a slight crunch on the outside and the perfect level of sweetness.

I also had a Grilled “Cheese” with “Bacon” which was quality comfort food, and my companion had the club sandwich.  Both sandwiches were worthy of their name, and offered all the taste bud factors of meat without having to consume any.

Overall, I LOVE this place.  I haven’t had time to make it back but I am SO excited for them for winning the All-Star edition of Cupcake Wars.  For those of you who aren’t obsessed with the Food Network, the name is pretty self explanatory.  People compete to see who has the best cupcakes, based on flavor, texture, and creativity.  Sticky Fingers has now won a normal competition AND the all-star division, meaning they beat out the best of the best for the crown.

Yum 🙂

2 responses to “Sticky Fingers Takes the Cake…or Cupcake as the case may be!

  1. Conor says:

    Yay for Sticky Fingers! Too bad it’s located in CH lol. I agree about D.C. having lots of selection but often only good in truly exotic foods (Thai, Indian, Ethiopian, etc.). You should do a piece on your fav places to eat when in D.C…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh this place looks too good to be true! The next time I go to DC, I must go here….YMMMM……

Leave a Reply

