runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Workouts for the Week

on January 16, 2012

Not a bad week, missed Thursday because my alarm didn’t go off, but I kept my garmin on at work just for fun to check out my heart rate and miles!  More on that another time 🙂

Tuesday: Cardio Interval

Wednesday: Hills – similar to last week but I added another 3% at the beginning.  35 min run, pace in the 9:00s, heart rate on the hills up in the 190s.

Thursday: Stupid Alarm clock!

Friday: Yasso 800s.  These are one of my favorite workouts.  Mainly because I get to both try and go fast, and walk lol  The work out is used to determine your approximate marathon time (ie, if it takes you 4 minutes to run an 800, it will take you 4 hours to do a marathon…no idea how this works but “they” say it does so I’ll believe it).  I don’t use it for that because I don’t particularly plan on running a marathon.  But, it’s great to increase your speed and your heart strength.

The idea is that you run an 800 (half mile) at basically as fast as you can while going that distance.  For me, that’s somewhere between 7.3 to start, most at 7.5 and 7.7 then push it to 8.0 towards the end.  In the typical yasso work out, you do this 10 times, with walking in between each interval.  I typically only get to about 7 because I’m time crunched :/

So I run .5, then walk .15.  This makes me happy.  I don’t have great endurance, so for me its really fun to push as hard as I can, for a short distance, with the reward of walking.  On the last 2 when I really push the speed, my heart rate can reach 200 which is pretty high.  I actually think its alot of fun, and I love doing them on Fridays, good motivation to get out of bed!

Saturday:  Weights and plyometrics.  I took the day off running and focused on some strength training.  It’s hard because in my head, I feel like running is the only way to get healthy but I KNOW this isn’t true.  Weight lifting and plyo are actually better for toning.  I started with a 10 min warm up on the elliptical, then moved to the leg machines.  I did 3 circuits of 15 reps by 2 sets on: The quadricep extension machine, the hamstring pull machine, squat machine and the abductor and adductor machines.  In between machines, I would do jumping jacks or high knees for 30 seconds to keep my heart rate up.  After 3 circuits, I did the stair master for 8 minutes.

I then did abs and some plyo, nothing crazy, just 10 burpies, 10 full squats, 10 small squats, and 16 jumping lunges.  I did this in 3 sets, with abs in between each.  Now, this was a craaaaazy long work out.  But, I was waiting on The Boy to finish so I just kept going to kill time.  This is not my normal M.O.

Sunday: Cardio Interval: 20 min elliptical, 30 min-ish treadmill (8 intervals of :45 at 6.5, :45 at 7.5 and 7.7), 10 min row, 10 min cool down bike

I’m so sore from Saturday!

And just because a little birdy told me there’s not much by way of rewards thus far on the blog, check out my yummy reward for all these workouts.  The most delicious donuts in the world from Donut Connection.  Double Chocolate and Apple crisp, plus some donut holes for good measure!  Crunchy on the outside, moist and delightful on the inside…this must be what heaven’s like.

4 responses to “Workouts for the Week

  1. Yosef says:

    do. nuts. are. amazing!!!!

  2. […] Yassos – Felt okay, still my favorite workout of the week.  Wound up doing 5 miles total, did a last .25 […]

  3. […] work out, great way to rack up the mileage for me.  See my description of this killer workout here   I start off a little slower, then finished out at 8.3 on my last 800.  The current goal is mid […]

  4. […] of the Yasso!  Check out my explanation about them here.  Essentially though, They’re just a series of 800 meter sets, as fast as you can go for […]

Leave a Reply

