runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Vegan Lasagna

on January 15, 2012

I set out with a lofty goal: Vegan Lasagna.  I’m in the mood for a delicious, warm, comfort food, and it’s the weekend so I have time for experimentation.

Goals:

  1. Make it yummy.  Always of primo importance!
  2. Make it vegan.  This could make #1 difficult, we shall see.
  3. Use a béchamel sauce.  I really like the contrast between a tomato sauce and a white sauce in lasagna.  With the vegan twist, I thought this could be a good way to substitute for a cheesy/creamy texture.
  4. No need to worry about the typical Ricotta element, The Boy doesn’t like ricotta and it’s not really important to me, so that makes it easier!
  5. Use as little fake cheese and substitutes as possible.  They have a lot of preservatives and sometimes substituting just makes you miss the real stuff more!

I scoured the internet for vegan lasagna recipes, and didn’t find any that spoke to me.  The crumbled tofu idea didn’t sound overly appealing, and most used tofutti cream cheese or the like.  And none looked that fabulous.  I decided to adapt my knowledge of lasagna with some other additions, and make my own.  So, here we go!

Layers:

Tomato Sauce

Bechamel Sauce

Spinach and mushroom mixture

Lasagna noodles

Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

  1. 1 can of Classico brand tomato sauce, Fire Roasted Tomato and Garlic (used canned on this one, I had some in the pantry and with the gravity of the endeavor I’m already undertaking, I figured I’ll give myself a pass on the sauce!)
  2. Half package of 12 ounce package of Morning Star Veggie Crumbles as the meat substitute to make it more hearty.
  3. Olive Oil (enough for a once around the pan)
  4. 1/3 small onion, chopped
  5. 2 ts of minced garlic
  6. 1/2 tbs Italian seasoning

Instructions:

  1. Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil until softened
  2. Add in the veggie crumbles and Italian seasoning, along with some garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste
  3. Saute until the crumbles start to brown
  4. Add the tomato sauce
  5. Lower heat, simmer 10-15 min


Bechamel Sauce Adapted from Giada De Laurentis’s recipe on Food Network.

Ingredients:

  1. 2.5 tablespoons of Smart Balance light vegan butter spread
  2. 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  3. 1.5 cups soy milk
  4. 1/8 cup Nutritional yeast (I added a little bit more)
  5. dash nutmeg

Instructions:

  1. In a large stock pot, melt butter over medium heat
  2. When butter has completely melted, add the flour and whisk until smooth, about 2 minutes
  3. Gradually add the milk, whisking constantly to prevent any lumps from forming
  4. Continue to simmer and whisk over medium heat until the sauce is thick, smooth and creamy, about 10 minutes
  5. The sauce should be thick enough to coat the back of wooden spoon
  6. Remove from heat and add the nutmeg and nutritional yeast (to make it “cheesy”)
  7. Stir until well combined and check for seasoning
  8. Set aside and allow to cool completely

I made the full amount from the adapted recipe, so I wound up with plenty of leftovers for the next time!

Spinach and Mushroom Mixture

I had some left over spinach and mushrooms that needed to be eaten, figured why not throw them in!

Ingredients:

  1. 6 cups of raw baby spinach
  2. 1 cup of sliced portobello mushrooms
  3. 1/2 ts minced garlic
  4. Olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Swirl olive oil in bottom of pan, add garlic and saute
  2. Add spinach and leftover sliced baby portobello’s
  3. Salt and pepper to taste
  4. Cook until spinach is wilted and mushrooms soften, but don’t over cook!

Now time for the assembly!

  1. Coat the bottom of the pan with the tomato mixture
  2. Place lasagna noodle in a row on top of the sauce
  3. Bechamel sauce
  4. Spinach mixture
  5. Top with another layer of lasagna noodles
  6. Tomato Sauce
  7. Spinach mixture (I ran out 😦 I didn’t have enough, but next time I’d use the full 6 cups, instead of the 3 I had)
  8. Lasagna noodles
  9. Bechamel
  10. Bake at 350 for about 25 min.

For a side dish: I made some quick Kale chips.

  1. De-stem and chop kale into bite sized pieces
  2. Coat in about 2 ts of olive oil and massage into the Kale to make sure evenly distributed
  3. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes.  Keep an eye on it, cooking time can seriously vary
  4. Toss a little more than half way through
  5. Take it out when it looks crispy

Now, Time to Eat!

Nutrition Facts: Calculated by Livestrong.com

9 servings

Calories 224
Total Fat 6g 8%
Sat Fat 1g 3%
Sodium 430mg 17%
Total Carb 32g 10%
Fiber 12g 49%
Sugar 6g
Protein 10g 19%

Verdict:  I loved it.  I’m really proud of myself for creating this recipe AND having it come out well.  I usually use other people’s recipe, especially as a base.  So, yay for me!

3 responses to “Vegan Lasagna

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love how you show the rest of us how “easy” it is… but it really DOES look tasty, and worth the effort.

  2. O. says:

    Impressive, to say the least.

  3. […] Remainder of Classico Fire Roasted Tomato and Garlic pasta sauce, left over from the Vegan Lasagna […]

Leave a Reply

