runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Weekend round up and Sunday night cooking

on January 8, 2012

After a fabulous weekend in D.C. for my best friend‘s birthday, it was time to come home and spend Sunday prepping for a healthy week.

I like to get everything ready Sunday nights to make the rest of the week go smoothly and have healthy options available.

First up – prep breakfast smoothie for tomorrow.  I realized last week that doing it in the morning wastes precious morning minutes…and isn’t the nicest for my neighbors.  So, it won’t have that nice frozen feel but it’ll still be good!  This time, I used a full cup of the mango-peach-strawberry frozen mixture because I don’t have any bananas. Add in 1/2 cup of vanilla soy milk, splash of vanilla, handful of spinach and psyllium husk to make it well rounded and nutritious!  Dani, the birthday girl, introduced me to psyllium husk, a powder made from the plantain and “contains a spongy fiber that reduces appetite, improves digestion and cleanses the system.”  Perfect for a smoothie!

Approximate nutrition:

  • 135 calories
  • About 170% vitamin C
  • 60% vitamin A
  • 8% iron
  • 25% calcium
  • 3g of protein
  • 730 mg of Omega-3

Moving on to my first soup endeavor!  Inspired by (never)homemaker, I decided to try my hand at it!  Here’s my soup:

Ingredients:

    

  1. 1 can of vegetable broth
  2. 3 cans of water
  3. 1 cup carrots
  4. 7 stalks of kale, about 3 big handfuls
  5. 1 stalk of broccoli
  6. 1, 15 ounce can of cannellini beans
  7. 1ts chili powder
  8. 1ts cumin
  9. 1 1/2 ts garlic powder
  10. salt and pepper (about half ts of each)

Instructions:

  1. Heat water and broth for 5 minutes while preparing carrots and kale
  2. Add carrots, kale, and seasonings to the liquid and mix
  3. Simmer for 5 minutes
  4. While simmering, chop the broccoli and drain the beans, add to soup
  5. Continue simmering, covered, for 20 minutes
  6. Let cool about an hour

So, this is where I decided to be a touch adventurous.  I’ve seen recipes where you take the soup and put it in a food processor to get a nice, creamy texture (which was also my inspiration behind adding the cannellini beans).  But, I was also kind of scared of this prospect, so I only processed half.  That way, I have two kinds of soup and if it’s a total fail, at least I still have some good parts left!

To Start:

Next: Attempting to blend and discovering my food processor is not quite as awesome as my mini blender :/

Oopsie!

Final Product:

Nutrition facts (according to Livestrong.com):  <I divided it into 6 servings for math’s sake.>

Per bowl:

  • Calories: 193
  • Fat: 3g
  • Fiber: 5g – 20%
  • Protein: 5g
  • Vitamin A: at least 200% (thanks Kale!
  • Vitamin C: 62%
  • Iron 5%

Most of the calories and protein come from the Cannellini beans, but well worth it!

Taste test- yummy.  I’m totally impressed with myself 🙂

Add some vegan crackers for crunch, and its an awesome, fulfilling and filling lunch!

2 responses to “Weekend round up and Sunday night cooking

Leave a Reply

