runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Smoothie and a Speed Trial

on January 6, 2012

Yesterday I started off with a nice, easy-ish run on the treadmill at my apartment complex.  I wanted to be near my place so I could try out my new mini blender.  Random tidbit – I won a knock off magic bullet during the holidays!  Single serve, blend in the cup you take, couldn’t be more awesome.  More smoothies to come!

Inspired by Oh She Glows and her Green Monster Movement, I added some spinach for good measure.  The good news is this adds great nutrition and doesn’t affect the flavor….the bad news is the green-ish color isn’t exactly appetizing.  It was yummy though and great for post workout!

Ingredients

  1. 3/4 cup frozen fruit (my mix had strawberries, mango and peaches)
  2. 1/2 cup of Vanilla low fat soy milk
  3. 1/2 large banana
  4. handful of spinach
  5. 1tbs of flaxmeal
  6. 1/2 ts vanilla extract
  7. little bit of water just to make the blender do it’s job!

Total smoothie win 🙂

The rest of the day was healthy until a work event…even being vegetarian doesn’t thwart the bad news foods that are cheese based, and delicious.  Oops!

Today I didn’t want to get out of bed…probably partially to do with last night’s cheese binge (I’m not used to that much dairy, I keep my house almost entirely vegan and don’t eat out during the week).  But, inspired by a friend who wakes up at 4:50am to do P90X, I thought I could atleast make it out to the gym!  I decided to do a varied cardio workout (elliptical, treadmill, row and stair stepper) since I ran the past two days.  The treadmill portion was a time trial…or speed trial…something like that.

I had an injury in the beginning of November last year so I couldn’t work out for almost two months.  It’s been rough getting back into the swing of things and after a couple weeks, I thought it would be good to have a base line to work from.  I ran a mile as fast as I could without dying.  My Garmin time was 7:30, treadmill pace of 8:13…not sure who was right but I’m guessing the treadmill because I haven’t calibrated my watch yet and I don’t think I’m that fast!  Good times though 🙂

Still haven’t figured out how to post from garmin connect, we’re getting there!

One response to “Smoothie and a Speed Trial

  1. Yosef says:

    Smoothies = yummy.

Leave a Reply

