runningwithrewards

Living a balanced life with lots of creative food, exercise and exploration!

Hills and Healthy Eats to Start the New Year!

on January 4, 2012

Hello out there!

This is my first official post as a blogger 🙂  After the holidays and the glutinous feasting, my body just really needs some good food and exercise.  I want to use this blog as a way to keep myself accountable, and hopefully inspire some people in the process!

To start off the New Year right, I headed to the gym this morning for hills.  Blech.  But, they’re great for you.  I did a ladder with the percentage grade, running at 4%, 5%, 6%, and 7%, then a brief walk, then work my way back down.  I did each for 2 minutes, then upped the speed and lowered the treadmill for 2 minute intervals.  I would have posted the results from my *new* Garmin, but, my computer and my watch got in a fight and the computer won…meaning I lost.  Better luck next time!

As to the eats portion, that’s my favorite part.  I kept it light all day excited for my dinner.  I made Caribbean Jerk marinated tempeh and mushrooms, with a side of roasted brussel sprouts.

For the tempeh, I marinated it overnight in Lawry’s Caribbean Jerk marinade, with some Thai chili sauce and soy sauce. 

Today I bought some sliced baby portabellos…I know its lazy but for 20 cents extra, I’ll take the help!  I don’t like the gills on mushrooms…ick.

I poured about a ts of olive oil in the pan to start with, then sauteed some garlic.  I then added the mushrooms and tempeh, along with some salt and pepper.  I use the salt to draw out the moisture in the mushrooms because I find it helps soften up the tempeh.  After a couple minutes, I added about 1/8 cup of water and covered the whole thing.  I do this because it helps break down the grainy texture of tempeh most people don’t like.  Saute and steam for about 5 minutes, then ready to eat!

For the brussel sprouts, I had some frozen baby ones on hand so I dethawed them in the fridge overnight.  I cut off the ends and cut them in half, I’ve heard the ends make them bitter and no one wants that!  Plus, given my love/hate relationship with the little buggers, I’d prefer to make them as tasty and idiot-proof as possible.

Then, toss in a smidge of extra virgin olive oil and add season salt.  Roast on 400 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Voila!

Add in some Veggie Stix and some So Delicious, mint marble fudge dairy free ice cream and I’m a happy camper!

That’s all for now 🙂

6 responses to “Hills and Healthy Eats to Start the New Year!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Er… that plate is lovely, but oddly familiar. Nevertheless, few people have the luxury of knowing exactly where to locate their “stuff” after burglaries, and food looks way better when it’s done by you. Signed: an unbiased party.

  2. Anonymous says:

    don’t invite me to dinner

  3. Anonymous says:

    To Anonymous, Jan 11, 2012 posting: No worries there, dude… with your demeanor, I doubt an invitation for dinner or anything else will appear with your name on it. From anyone.

    I love this blog, and am not a vegetarian. I just enjoy cooking, and smart, creative, people. I think you took the wrong turn on your way to the Grumpy forum. Don’t let the door…

  4. […] increasing portion of the Hill ladder went well, I felt tired on the hills but the flats were okay.  I had to run to the bathroom before […]

  5. […] used the same technique as last time I made tempeh, and the steamer thingy made a come back for the green […]

  6. […] to the Salad.  I kept it simple with Spinach and mixed greens, tempeh (using my go to recipe and method), and steamed green beans.  If I can get my hands on some kumquats, I intend to throw […]

Leave a Reply

